Portsmouth Museum and Fine Arts Commission

The Museum and Fine Arts Commission is the consultant and advisor to the City Council on all museum and fine art activities and programs. The Commission serves as advisor to the City Council on the management of the City museums.

Individuals appointed to the Museum & Fine Arts Commission are expected to demonstrate their support of the City Council goals and the Museums’ mission statements through attendance at the Museums’ functions which number approximately two per month; through Museum membership, recruitment of new members, and support of fundraising events; and through volunteer service, which includes serving on a standing committee.

The Commission is composed of fifteen members who shall be citizens of the City and are appointed by City Council.

2019 Gladstone M. Hill Friend of the Arts & Humanities Award


FY 2019 – 2020 Cultural Arts Grants




Commission Meetings

The Commission meets the first Tuesday of each month at 5:00 p.m. at the Children’s Museum of Virginia at 221 High Street. The Commission does not meet in July and December.

2018-2019 Executive Board

Chairman: Tanya Street

Vice-Chairman: Robert Wilber

Secretary: Billie Montgomery Cook

2018-2019 Members

Ms. Lynn Colingham
Ms. Billie Montgomery Cook
Ms. Diana Davenport
Mr. Marlon Deason
Ms. Clifford King Harbin

Ms. Deborah Mann Hines
Mr. Gordon K. Jones
Mr. Matthew Kloeppel
Mr. Lawrence A. Owes

Ms. Kendra Robinson
Ms. Donna M. Rogers
Ms. Tanya Street
Mr. Dante Walston
Mr. Robert Wilber


Nancy S. Perry
Portsmouth Museums

Debra E. McDuffie, CPRP
Administrative Support

African American Historical Society of Portsmouth
Ms. Doris Shelton

Gladstone Hill Friend of the Arts Award Recipients

2018 : Sue Landerman
2017 : Alan Gollihue
2016: Kathy Batkin
2015 : Shelley Brooks
2014 : Martha F. Fortson
2013 : Barbara Vincent
2012 : Ms. Grace M. Armistead
2011 : Dr. John O. Joyce
2010 : Mr. Kenneth R. Woolard

2009 : Mr. & Mrs. John Larcombe
2008 : Captain George Watkins
2007 : Olde Towne Business Association
2006 : Mrs. Jean H. Shackelford
2005 : Mr. William S. Hargroves
2004 : Dr. Pamela C. Kloeppel
2003 : Mr. J. Robert Burnell
2002 : Mrs. Zelma G. Rivin
2001 : Portsmouth Community Concerts

2001 : Portsmouth Community Concerts
2000 : Ms. Ida Kay Jordan
1999 : Dr. Richard Singletary
1998 : Mrs. Betty Lambdin
1997 : Mrs. E. Ann Stokes
1996 : Mr. & Mrs. Alf J. Mapp, Jr.
1995 : Mrs. Jean Oast
1994 : Mr. John Paul Hanbury
1993 : Dr. & Mrs. Gladstone M. Hill




NEWS right to your email.

400 High Street, Portsmouth, VA 23704 · 757-393-8543
Mailing Address: 521 Middle Street, Portsmouth, VA 23704
The Portsmouth Art & Cultural Center, housed in the 1846 Courthouse, is devoted to offering quality educational, cultural and aesthetic experiences in the arts through rotating visual art exhibits, lectures, classes and performances.

Copyright 2017 City of Portsmouth, VA
website by Arengee